Marika Hackman

(United Kingdom)


Date / Time
8:15pm Thursday

“I used to be very self-conscious,” explains Hackman, all breezy. “If something sounded a bit too pop or like I’d heard it before I’d mould it into something different. This time around I thought, Fuck it I’ll just let it flow.” The results of this newfound semi-anarchic approach to songwriting are most immediately heard in the grungier, harder, catchier thrill of ‘I’m Not Your Man’. But beyond the sound, the biggest departure is in the writing. The new Hackman is far less introspective and self-conscious. Marika 2.0 is unhinged, uninhibited and shamelessly free.

Hackman is putting together a live band to tour ‘I’m Not Your Man’ – she’ll be creating a racket all of her own. “I can’t wait to see the reaction,” she says. “That’s the thrill of reinventing yourself. I might piss off a lot of die-hard folky fans but this is still my brain, it’s still my world, and I’m gonna create it how I want.”

Full Line-Up